Safari Ndefu, ofwel Daans Grote Reis

The street seller on Gitanga Road

Africa, perhaps more than any other continent, is a place where people figure as monuments. Themonuments here might not be cut in stone and grandiose like they are in Europe, but they possess a pertinence in their own right.

A figure that incorporates all of the impressions I have had so far of this bizarre metropolis, is a street seller at Gitanga Road. How old he is, is a mystery almost impossible to unravel. Sure, his hare is grey, but his posture far from elderly. In one hand he holds a staff, a tradition for members of his tribe (or so I've been told) and in the other a scultpure made out of ebbony that bears an eerie resemblance to its possessor. I pass him by while being driven to and from work. In my mind he has become a symbol. the symbol of a people that appear to be caught midway in between progress and their ancestral ways. before all else I see in him the symbol of a people caught in abject poverty, subject to a government that fails to deliver even the most basic services to its citizens while its members possess more land and wealth than any mzungu. yet, despite of all this, I see in him also the daily reports on the radio that diagnose society's problems and discusses them in all openness and freedom. The man, now a symbol in my mind, is the day labourer who sells himself for a pittance and is prepared to move mountains if necessary, and the businessman in the City, the guard at my gate in Kilimani and the children that play in my courtyard.

As I write these words, I hear a sound. it is like a thousand pebbles landing on the tin roof of the shack that I can see from my window. I smile and I remember my first words in Swahili: Mvua(rain), so appropriate after Moto (fire) claimed the lives of so many in the slum of Sinai, close to the industrial centre of this city without a functional fire brigade.

I smile and remember looking out of the window of the toilet in my office building, Lonrho House and seeing(or perhaps imagining) beyond the limits of the city into the savannah. Oh, it is a peculiar place, this metropolis. This place of fresh water which the Masaai called enkare nairobi.

Reacties

Reacties

Marcelle

Phew!.....what an impressive story and philosophical description of Nairobi.and its inhabitants.
I remember this man standing at the side of Gitanga road..you think he has ever sold one of these carvings of himself?

Huck

Kenya might not be altogether European but it seems to be (according to this blog) thoroughly British. For one it is member of the Commonwealth still to this day. But do tell me: how would a) an average person in Nairobi or b) an average person in the countryside see the old people see their old colonial masters overseas? I reckon there are still quite a few Britons walking about there, down under..

Daan

My dear mr Smirnov, the question you ask is impossible to answer. If you go to the slumbs, people will see a mzungu as a walking wallet, ripe for the plucking. The political class will see whites as the exponents of colonialism that can be used as ideal scapegoats. As for the rest, I don't think people have any particular feeling against whites. Don't forget that there is actually a native white Kenyan population.There is some discrimination, but no persecution or anything of the kind.

Daan

I am sure he sold at least one. Perhaps I will buy the other one from him. I twould be a nice souvenir...

Richard

Great writing Daan! And I've figured out what schrijft and reageer means! (but not much else). Perhaps you can add me to your list of recipients?

Daan

Hi Richard,
Thanks! I will certainly do so if you send me your e-mail!

D

Sissy

I love the way you write... It's so original with a poetic note as well. You are quite a specimen of a Dutchman! :)))

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!