Safari Ndefu, ofwel Daans Grote Reis

Paying the rent in Kenya and apartment transfer

Dear readers,

After a long day of work (succesfully concluded I might add) nothing is nicer than writing you a funny little story from one of the funniest (and most fun) places in Africa, if not the world.

A theme common to all my foreign stays so far is the experience of having to pay rent. Given the fact that I usually do not have a bankaccount in other countries, it usually involves some weird way of handing over wads of cash to my landlord.

In Kenya, one can only take out KES 40.000 per day, the equivalent of 307.70 Euros. Considering that my rent is tantamount to KES 70.000, I took me 2 days to gather all the money. The heaps of banknotes were positively epic. When I went to the reception to pay my rent, the guy at the counter nearly fell of his chairs with amazement. I verified my rental rate and had him put in writing that this was the rent for up until 17 October. he duly agreed and added with a typical Kenyan smile: 'But bwana, you do know that we prefer banking?' I wholeheartedly agreed with him, but I had to admit my telebanking equipment of BOA has yet to be delivered.

On another note, I have decided to change rooms. The noise in my present apartment is just too much. I don't want to be a whiner, but since I am paying extra for this apartment, I would like it to be quieter to. As agreed, I will move to a different wing of the complex, further away from the road and one storey up. My guess is it will be more quiet. In stead of apartment A2, I guess it will be C4. Tomorrow I will move for the 5th and hopefully last time this month. Thankfully the appartments are totally similar, so I wont have to rethink the lay out of my apartment. I will just transfer everything at par.

I am glad that some people like my good old friend Valentin (din Bolentin) have left their a comment on my blog. I would urge every single one of you to leave a comment. It does make me feel good in the evening!

kwa heri,

D

PS: Valentine, scrisesi ca ai inceput un blog.. care-i adresa te rog?

Reacties

Reacties

Ana

LEuk verhaal Daan! Het doet me een beetje denken aan MMa Ramotswes belevenissen in Botswana ;-)

Daan

Soms voelt het hier ook wel een beetje zo, Annie!

Marcelle

Dear Son,
Nothing is easier than banking. Why not transfer the money for the 6 months rent from your Dutch account to the BOA bank and do your monthly payments via banking. Much safer than walking around with wads of money! It will only cost you bank fees once!!!

Marcelle

Hope wholeheartedly that this last apartment will be quieter and that you can get some decent sleep!
When will you move?

yvonne

Hoi Daan
I like to read your story's about your adventures in a foreign country. It's nice to find your way around and learn a new language at the same time. The weather here in Holland is kinda bad, almost like autumn. Maybe I can amuse you to give you a start with your pipe group,I give you the first sentences. With thanks to our friend Shakespearre. Here is comes:

Is it for fear to wet a widows eye
That thou consum'st thyself in pipeless live

Wort vervold, ho eis t trouwens met je grote rokerige vriend?

Gr Yvonne

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!