Safari Ndefu, ofwel Daans Grote Reis

Nairobi ... having a blast

Dear all,

Just before anybody might panic, I AM ALIVE. There have been two terrorist attacks in Nairobi by now, but it goes without saying I read about it in the papers. Unpleasant business, but no one got killed so far. Somali's make lousy terrorists apparently. Particularly unpleasant was the warning from Her Majesty's Embassy. Our boys in Nairobi told me I should avoid spots favoured by expats. Unfortunately, that covers more or less all my possible hang outs. Quite honestly, if I need to avoid malls and bars, what is a person to do o'er here?! besides, where would I do my shopping... surely not at the market? I would be way more likely to get pickpocketed there than anywhere. And I am a horrible haggler. Besides, are wazungu hangouts not usually way better secured than in the poorer sections of town? All in all it would mean I 'd be restricted to home and work.

On a more positive not, I spent my weekend in Nanyuki, where I spotted a leopard! people unfamiliar with game driving would not think too much of this, but it is in fact an extremely rare sight. I made some beautiful pictures that shall be published at first possibility.

The flight to Nanyuki was as spectacular as the Kenyan landscape. All in all, had a lovely weekend!

Kwa heri!

Reacties

Reacties

marcelle

Look forward to the spectacular pictures of that leopard!
And please......................be careful!!!!

Sandra

Soooooo glad you're alive and kicking! Heard about just one attack, but saw you had posted something on fb afterwards, so didn't panick. But TWO attacks is kind of creepy - so yeah, as the very wise Marcelle says, pleeeeeeeeeeeease be careful!!!
Miss you and take care, rafiki!!!

Meera

Glad to hear that you're okay. I was wondering given the news. Be safe no matter where you go and what you do!

Dia

Is it such a dangerous area? It seems a bit similar with what my dad told me about his experience in Lagos.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!