Safari Ndefu, ofwel Daans Grote Reis

Kuuliza si ujinga

Dear readers,

This is my first posting with a title in Kiswahili. As a matter of fact, I have finally taken the time to make an arrangement to learn what is supposed to be the other national language of Kenya. In daily parlance at the office, some Kiswahili words are very much in vogue. Nobody would ever say Okay or alright, but instead everybody uses 'sawa, sawa'.

Kiswahili is a language that orginated on the coast of Kenya and Tanzania. It is bascially a Bantu language, enriched by loads of Arabic word and expressions, a smattering of Portuguese and Hindi, and of course some English. Kiswahili is supposed to be one of the most regular languages in the world and hence reasonably easy to learn (well... we'll find out).

Kiswahili has a veritable treasury of sayings. Allow me to share some of the sayings I have learned so far. The most important of these must surely be: Haraka, haraka, haina baraka, which means as much as: there's no blessing in hurrying up. If the time certain waiters take to give you uour change is anything to go by, this lesson is one that some kenyans have taken to heart. Drivers, however, are yet to take in this wisdom...

One that I personally like the most is: Kuuliza si ujinga. To ask is not stupidity. I think this is a very profound saying, the emaning of which can be subject to prolonged meditation indeed. Not only is it a very practical advise, but it also carries the more profound implication that pride should never blind you.

I will be starting my courses on Monday, so think of me while I stutter my first words in an non-Indo-European language.

Also, I will be moving. I will finally have my onw apartment by tomorrow evening! The place will have a swimming pool, so I can finally do something remotely remsembling physical activity. Another plan is to join a hiking club. According to a colleague it is a great way to see the country and meet new friends. And the tracks are supposed to be accessible to less sporty guys too... in theory that is.

I am starting to enjoy my work more and more. I begin to understand more and more how development aid works and contrary to my previous beliefs it proves to be an interesting subject that has actual internal debate going on.

All in all I can say that my transfer here from Europe is a succes.

Kwa herini (in blessing, a traditional Kiswahili good bye)

daan

Reacties

Reacties

Sandra

Hey Daan! Great post! Kiswahili sounds so interesting... too bad I only know some basic expressions, but as the saying goes elimu haina mwisho - you're never too old to learn ;))
Hope you have lots of fun studying, hiking, swimming and moving of course :D Pozzzz od svih nas!

Marcelle

So you go to Swahili courses after all!!! Good for you
Where do you go when you go hiking? Near Nairobi?
I am curious what you encounter on such walks...any animals?

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!